"Dawn was referred by some of our close friends, and we contacted her about 4 months ago to help our 16 year old son improve his grades. Within 2 weeks we saw an improvement, and we continue to still see positive change. When Dawn started with us, he was around a 2.5 g.p.a., and he now has a 3.5 g.p.a. We attribute much of that success to Dawn, and her systems she has put in place with our son. She has helped him to continuously advocate for himself and communicate with his teachers. Dawn has worked diligently with our son to understand how to study properly and prepare for quizzes and exams. As a parent, it can be challenging to implement these strategies with our own children. Dawn approaches this more objectively with our son, and he feels an accountability to her. She deeply cares for her students and strives for their success. Dawn has so much experience with students of all ages and that knowledge is truly invaluable." M.K., Littleton, CO February 2024


"When we noticed our son was falling behind in his gifted and talented math program in DPS, due to some cracks in the school's curriculum, we were fortunate enough to find Dawn. She quickly jumped in and created math instruction that challenged our son and got him back on track. Dawn custom tailors her tutoring program to get the best results in the shortest amount of time. She is a hard worker, committed to her students, and always gives her best. We are blessed to have found such a talented tutor and partner in our son's math development." A..M. and B.M., Denver, CO December 2023

~~~~~~~


"Our 15-year-old son completed his freshman year at Chatfield with Cs and Ds. He needed a little help in Geometry, but also struggled more generally with organization, study skills, and advocating for himself with his teachers. He began working with Dawn the summer before his sophomore year. After three months, our son is taking school more seriously, currently has Bs in all of his classes, and may even end up earning an A or two by semester's end! Dawn is very intuitive and versatile and was able to identify that our son's needs change day to day. Dawn is able to go from helping him write an essay for English, to helping him understand geologic concepts for a science test, all in one session. I am grateful that Dawn can adjust to our son's needs and help him wherever he needs it. My only regret is that we didn't find her sooner!" G.B., Littleton, CO November, 2023

~~~~~~~


"Our son AJ was having a hard time transitioning from middle school to high school. My husband and I tried sitting down with AJ to go over his work and identify his struggles and in which subjects he was lacking. Unfortunately, our help was not sufficient and at some point AJ was failing all his classes and losing motivation to go to school. We knew we needed professional help, so I reached out to Ms. Kolber (Dawn) for tutoring. When she and I first spoke, I was very impressed with how she already knew how to proceed and had a plan in mind just by my description of AJ. She explained that it is quite normal for boys of this age to mature slowly and experience difficulty moving out of their comfort zone. I knew that this was exactly what was happening in my household.

   AJ told me that from the very first day of tutoring his bonding with Ms. Kolber was incredible and hiring her was the best decision I could have made. She gained AJ's trust immediately, because she was firm, strict, and direct when necessary, but also soft-spoken and very caring. Within a few tutoring sessions, my husband and I and AJ's teachers noticed academic improvement and a new, positive attitude towards school. As AJ's grades improved, his interest in school subjects was greater than ever before. We even caught AJ reading without being asked and sharing the book's contents at the dinner table. He also showed me some new math tricks that Ms. Kolber had taught him. We definitely could not have gotten through AJ's freshman year successfully without Ms. Kolber. 

   Thank you, Ms. Kolber. We really appreciate all you have done to help our son so far. AJ cannot wait to start sophomore year on the right path with you by his side." P. Ruiz, Littleton, CO June 2023

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has been tutoring my daughter for the past two years. My daughter had a really hard time recognizing letters and their sounds at the beginning of the school year, and Dawn, using the Phono-Graphix program and a lot of practice helped her recognize them all and be at the level she needed to be for her age. She was struggling at school at the beginning of the year and she is excelling now.  She enjoys reading! It is nice to see my daughter have the confidence to sound out words that she hasn’t learned yet. Dawn also helped her with math early on and now she barely needs math help. Dawn is very professional and gains the trust of her students. They learn to work hard during the 1 hour they are with her. Sessions cover Dawn’s programs for math and reading and the school work my daughter might need help with. Dawn works very hard and loves what she does. It’s very important for my daughter to see that. We also consider her a family friend. My daughter enjoys working with her."  Nunes Family, Littleton, CO May 2023

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has done a great job connecting with and teaching math to our daughter. I'm an engineer and no stranger to math, but I've learned that knowing math and teaching math to a child are two totally different things. The solid foundation of fundamental concepts that Dawn has taught our child is clearly worth the time and money spent." J.A., Littleton, CO February 2023

~~~~~~~

"My child got behind in her math scores during Zoom schooling from COVID. She was behind where we thought she should be, and we felt the teachers were just pushing her along. My wife then decided to get a tutor. We had Dawn tutor our child for math to get her grade up, and more importantly, her understanding. Dawn has hit it out of the park. My daughter's grades have gone up significantly, from barely passing to B's. I also like that Dawn lets us know how she is doing by giving us progress reports after every session, along with a list of what our daughter has been assigned to work on the following week. Thank you, Dawn!" -- S.R. and K.R., Lakewood, CO November 2022.

~~~~~~~

"Several months ago my third grade son requested help with math because he wasn't doing as well as his friends. His teacher assured me that he was at grade level and his friends were just advanced. This was affecting his self-esteem, however, so I reached out to Dawn. She has been wonderful to work with--so patient and encouraging. He feels very confident and ready for fourth grade!" -- Becca Dominguez, Denver, CO August 2022.

~~~~~~~

"Dawn is a fantastic tutor; she has impressive techniques for gaining the respect of her students. Our son is a leader, which comes with challenges and requires keen navigational skills. Dawn is a seasoned tutor and can meet students where they are, while getting them involved in wanting the best for themselves. As two active partners at work and in the community, including our son's school, we have taxing schedules and needed help to ensure that our son was afforded the best educational opportunity with assistance from a superior tutor. Dawn even checks his assignments and keeps us in the loop of his progress. We can trust our son's academic progress while traveling for work, volunteering at his school, and giving back to the community. We are thankful for Dawn and everything she brings to her students and parents." -- Dr. T.R.R. Centennial, CO March 2022.

~~~~~~~

"Mrs. Dawn does great work keeping my five- and seven-year-old girls focused on learning how to read, write, and do math. My girls are very engaged with Dawn's teaching style, which is not boring to them. They also love the materials she provides. The best part is that my kids are really advanced in their classes, which gives them with a great deal of confidence. I feel the money is well spent on my kids' education." -- A.E. Denver, CO March 2022.

~~~~~~~

"Our son started his 1st grade journey at his new school this year, Powderhorn Elementary, in Littleton, Colorado. Making the transition from his previous Kindergarten class to Powderhorn was not easy for him. Everything was new, and when it came specifically to reading expectations, it was obvious from the start that he was behind. He was unable to read more than a few words and had trouble associating sounds to the words, making this even more challenging.  As a mom, I tried to jump into some things at home. I quickly realized I was in over my head and making slow progress. The result for our son was frustration. I knew I needed to lean on an expert, and I found Dawn’s tutoring website online. From the start, I knew Dawn was the right fit. Her personality, her learning program, her experience raising her own kids, and her enthusiasm for our son’s success were just a few of her many qualities. We started our journey with Dawn just a few months ago and already the success is so obvious. I just received a note from Ace’s teacher this week concerning his mid-year reading test. He increased his sounds from 18 to 85 and is now able to read 42 words per minute with an 88% accuracy level! Wow, how far we have come. While our son is now getting tons of positive affirmations from Dawn, his teacher and his family…the best part is he is proud of his accomplishments. He loves to be challenged and is always looking to progress to the next harder reading level. Dawn has been a key to our success story. Our family would recommend her to any parents who may be struggling with their kiddo's reading ability. It takes a team to raise a child, and I’m very lucky to have Dawn as part of the team for our son’s learning journey. Truly Grateful" -- Lauren K. (aka Mom) - Littleton, CO December 2021

~~~~~~~

"Having Dawn tutor my daughter in Algebra has made a world of difference. In the past year, my daughter's grades in math changed from Cs and Ds to As and Bs. Dawn is extremely kind and helpful and truly cares about her student's success. She is also exceptionally patient when it comes to teaching and/or explaining mathematical equations. Dawn is amazing, and we feel fortunate to have found her!" -- J.B. Littleton, CO October 2021

~~~~~~~

"Dawn was extremely helpful in tutoring my son in Algebra 2. She helped him get his grade up to a B and was very encouraging to him, as well as dependable and consistent. I would highly recommend Dawn's services if you are in need of extra help for your student! -- S.R. Littleton, CO March 2021

~~~~~~~

"My two boys (one in middle school and one in high school) have been seeing Dawn since the Fall of 2020. Both boys were struggling academically when school went remote due to the pandemic. Dawn has been wonderful for both boys. Their grades have improved and they have a new enthusiasm for school and learning. In addition to tutoring in the specific subjects, Dawn teaches them how to organize their work and how to prepare for their classes. She truly cares about the boys and champions their education and well being. It has been a godsend to have her meet in person with the boys during this difficult pandemic time. I highly recommend Dawn to anyone looking for a tutor for his or her child. We look forward to continue working with Dawn."-- Erin Stange Barnett. Littleton, CO March 2021

~~~~~~~

"Our son is in kindergarten at Littleton Academy. Over the summer, we were looking for a tutor to help him with reading. As parents, we wanted to provide him with tools to have a successful year and were hoping to get him started on reading. As much as we tried to help him on our own, we were unsuccessful and he got so frustrated with us. After a few sessions with Dawn, the improvement was noticeable. She is using the phonics program with him and it is really working. Littleton Academy also uses this program, which works out great for us, because the tutoring session really reinforces what he is learning at school while also getting him ahead. He is able to sound out the words and enjoys reading so much! Thanks to Dawn, he is able to sit down and do work for a full hour. He really enjoys having Dawn as his tutor! She is very professional and makes learning fun, while emphasizing working hard and doing your best during the session. We are glad we found her and love having her as a tutor for our son!"-- G.C. Littleton, CO December 2020

~~~~~~~

"We opted for virtual learning after the pandemic, and I was struggling to cover all the 1st grade work with my 7-year-old. He was struggling to understand the new concepts that were being introduced in class. Dawn has been a godsend! I have seen such a remarkable difference in my son's reading comprehension as well as in math! He is excelling in schoolwork, all thanks to Dawn's hard work and commitment! She makes sure my son understands the core concepts of the coursework in a way that makes learning fun. I especially love how she is helping my son learn how to read. I am thankful to have found her! I know my son will benefit greatly for years to come because of the strong foundational concepts he has learned and will learn from Dawn." -- Sara Aziz Hayat. Lakewood, CO November 2020 

~~~~~~~

"I would recommend Dawn for tutoring because she is genuinely concerned for the student's long-term success. She is able to provide that extra support my granddaughter needs for her academic success. They review schoolwork assigned by teachers and spend the time needed to reinforce new information. Dawn is caring and enthusiastic." -- F.S. Centennial, CO June 2020

~~~~~~~

"Two weeks before my daughter was to finish kindergarten, I was told all was good to go. By the end of that week, her teacher told me she was not recommended to move forward. I was shocked. I started to scramble on what I could do to help her progress so she would be able to go to 1st grade. Ms. Dawn was recommended to me by a neighbor. We have used Ms. Dawn's services for almost a year now, and my daughter is doing very well in her speech, writing, and sentence structure. Ms. Dawn is able to build a relationship of trust, which has allowed my daughter to grow and show great progress in her reading as well. Ms. Dawn holds myself and my daughter accountable for assignments, and this reinforces how important it is to do the work! I am very grateful for her services as she has been able to help in areas I cannot help my child." -- Jacqueline Kleewein-Strom. Lakewood, CO April 2020

~~~~~~~

"I would like to take a moment to recommend a person who has changed our lives. Dawn has changed my daughter's confidence in school, from a mathematical perspective. She has increased my daughter's math grade from a C to an A in one semester. With the increasing difficulty in math over the kid's yearly curriculum, we have chosen to keep working with Dawn every week and every year. This is a true story, words of experience. Dawn, and my child's confidence and future, hands down, are worth every penny." -- Heidi Salmons. Centennial, CO November 2019

~~~~~~~​

"Dawn has the skills which many of Lawson's teachers are missing. She is truly committed to the long-term success of our fifth grade son's education. When Lawson started tutoring with Dawn, his grades were mainly 2's and a few 3's. He was testing a year behind in reading and writing and also behind in math. Nearly two years later, Lawson has honor roll grades! He has all 3's and is testing at grade level or above. The once-per-week hour we get with Dawn has changed our son's attitude and scholastic future. We tried other tutors, who were highly recommended, but we are glad we didn't settle. Dawn's one-on-one instruction gets tangible results. She is the best tutor money can buy. We will stay with Dawn as long as she will have us." -- Chris Viets and Jessica Allmond. Centennial, CO November 2019

~~~~~~~

"Three years ago, we were fortunate to come across Dawn, while looking for a tutor for the SAT test. We were immediately impressed with Dawn's style of teaching, which included the student taking responsibility and being held accountable for all of the assigned work. Dawn would often tell my daughter that increasing her SAT scores was hard work, but there was no easy way around it, and if she put in the work, she would be successful. My daughter worked hard and substantially increased her SAT score with Dawn's help and guidance. Needless to say, we were very happy with the results, but more importantly, our daughter learned a learning style that has helped her in many other areas. Dawn is a no-nonsense tutor, who demands a lot from her students. My wife and I both agree the lessons our daughter learned from Dawn go beyond tutoring for a test and are more of life lessons about taking responsibility and being held accountable. These are lessons we have taught at home, and we were happy Dawn made these same lessons a part of her tutoring curriculum. We were so happy with Dawn and her style of tutoring, that we used her for our youngest child two years later. We highly recommend Dawn as a tutor for your child." -- Mark and Minda. Littleton, CO September 2019

~~~~~~~

"As a parent it was extremely important that I chose the right person to tutor my daughter, because her education and future depends on picking the right one. I chose Dawn at the end of first semester, when my daughter was struggling the most. Second semester started and right away I noticed a change. I saw her going from D's to A's. She taught my daughter very helpful study habits and how to be on top of her work. Dawn was organized and serious about her job. Any error she saw in my daughter's grades or work she would immediately tell me about and tell my daughter to go in the next day and fix it right away. Overall the time my daughter spent with Dawn was very helpful to her. Soon finals came around and her first semester work compared to her second semester work was amazing. Unfortunately, we had to move out of state. If that wasn't the case, we would've kept her until my daughter graduated. Thank you, Dawn, my daughter and our whole family will never forget you."--R.A. Littleton, CO August 2019

~~~~~~~​

"A year ago I was referred to Dawn from a neighbor whose daughter was being tutored. When we began, my granddaughter was two grade levels behind in school. Dawn worked diligently to help my granddaughter with her reading, writing and mathematics. While Dawn expects a lot from her students and pushes them to achieve, she does this with compassion, consistency and positive affirmation. Dawn makes it clear to her students that school is to be a priority. Not only have my granddaughter's grades improved, she is now at grade level in her mathematics. There is still some work to be done with her reading and language arts skills, but those have improved to almost grade level.  I would recommend Dawn's services to anyone whose child needs extra help at any grade level."--A.S. Denver, CO March 2019

~~~~~~~

"We are very pleased with Dawn Kolber-Grebe's tutoring. We hired her to help our daughter learn studying techniques & be better focused at providing detail in her school assignments. Her grades have improved overall. Dawn is great at being thorough & organized. She is very strict & structured, which is needed for our daughter. We would highly recommend her. She makes it her mission to get good results/improvements."--L.P. Littleton, CO March 2019

 ​​~~~~~~~

"We decided to hire a tutor for our son in between his freshman and sophomore years in high school. He had struggled his first year in high school and we wanted to get a jump before he went into his second year. What a difference it has made in having Dawn. He has made great progress in not only understanding the material, but knowing how to organize and plan ahead. His first trimester grades were the best he has had in a long time, and we know it has a direct correlation to his work with Dawn. We would highly recommend her services to anyone who it looking for a great tutor."-- M.C. Littleton, CO November 2018

  ​​~~~~~~~​​

"My daughter started with Dawn in August 2018. I initially just expected someone to help me get my kids back up to speed with school, but we have gained so much more. In three months, my youngest has doubled her words read per minute and dramatically improved in all other areas. Dawn is a "get down to business" kind of tutor. While she is very straightforward and clear with her expectations, she also offers compassion and encouragement. This has allowed my daughter's self-esteem to flourish while she is learning. Dawn is very knowledgeable as she has tutored both my 4th grader, and my high school junior in an advanced placement course. They have worked in several areas including math, reading, history, etc. All areas have improved, so much so, that we are starting to eliminate things that no longer need to be worked on or reviewed. I would absolutely recommend Dawn to anyone in need of any sort of academic help. My kids are truly blessed to have Dawn as a tutor."-- J.W. Littleton, CO November 2018

​​~~~~~~~

"Dawn checked on my family in early May to find out if we were interested in summer tutoring. I told her that since she did such a beautiful job, we would not be needing any further tutoring assistance. My kids, currently finishing 7th and 9th grades, still talk about the reading and writing skills they learned from Dawn last summer."-- D.B. Littleton, CO May 2018

​​~~~~~~~

"Dawn worked with my son (4th grader) for several months on his reading and writing. My son's reading scores improved in the second semester testing at school. His writing became more legible as well. She taught him skills in reading that he used to write his monthly book reports. I saw an improvement in his focus while reading and writing. His reading comprehension improved, and thus he started enjoying reading more."--  N.G. Littleton, CO April 2018

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has been tutoring our daughter through her first two years of high school. She is prepared and thorough when she arrives, taking the time to review our daughter's progress since their last tutoring session by starting with a complete review of the school portal prior to beginning the new session. Dawn does a very nice job of balancing firm accountability with a friendly, positive demeanor, which is not an easy thing to do with teenagers. Our favorite lesson provided by Dawn isn't specific to any subject, but rather, it is her relentless teaching of proper classroom behavior (note taking, interaction, etc.) and study skills, something I never had as a kid! That said, all of these accolades would be meaningless and hollow if the results weren't there, and the bottom line is very simple - our daughter's grades have improved across the board, and except for the expected occasional teenage mishap, have remained up. Simply put, Dawn gets results! " -- G.S. Littleton, CO April 2018

~~~~~~~

The following review is from the same parent, written in both English and Spanish:

"I was very happy to have Dawn as a tutor for my son, who was repeating fourth grade. Dawn compiled a list of books appropriate to his reading level and also worked with him in the Spectrum Math series workbook. I just received my son's report card, and I am so happy he is performing at grade level. Now he is able to complete his homework and book reports efficiently, thanks to Dawn's help." -- L.B. Englewood, CO January 2018 (English version)


"Yo estuve muy contenta de tener a Dawn como tutora para mi hijo que estaba reprobando 4 grado. Dawn le hiso una lista de libros adecuados para su nivel de lectura y tambien uso el libro Spectrum para matematicas. Apenas recivi su boleta su boleta y con la buena noticia de que esta a nivel de grado. Ahora puede hacer su tarea y projectos de libros  muy bien. Gracias Dawn por su ayuda!" -- L.B. Englewood, CO January 2018 (Spanish version)​

~~~~~~~

"My daughter is 8 years old and was needing some guidance with her math and writing skills. She gets easily overwhelmed in class and needed additional help understanding her math and organizing her thoughts before she writes. Within weeks after starting with Dawn, we saw an improvement in her math skills, handwriting, spelling, and ability to write clear thoughts and stories. Not only did she tutor my daughter, she gave me the skills to continue to help her on my own and in the future. She has been a fabulous teacher, always on time, always right to the point, and has a genuine love of learning and helping others. We feel so blessed to have found her and will continue to use her in the future. If there were stars, I'd give her 5!" -- J.S.  Morrison, CO January 2018

~~~~~~~

"As I was looking for a geometry tutor for my grandson in the Littleton area, it did not take me long to discern that Dawn would be my first choice. I found that everything I read about her and everything she shared with me was most impressive. She is a very honest and forthright person. We were in need of finding a tutor promptly due to it being so close to graduation time, and my grandson was failing first semester geometry. When I first spoke with Dawn regarding helping my grandson and our present situation, the first thing she said was, 'I do not want him to fail; we will find a way to fit him into my schedule.' I also explained to Dawn that most of his issues involved devoting too much of his time to a college course he was involved in and not devoting enough of his time to geometry. She said that due to time constraints of only having a semester to pull his grade up, she was sure that she could at the very least get him up from an F to a C. Just before the end of the year, Dawn brought his grade up, just as she said she would, and in time for graduation. Dawn is a very competent and professional tutor in every sense of the word. She has a genuine passion for teaching. She is so enthusiastic that she creates an eagerness for students to want to excel. It does not take long for students to become optimistic with assurance that they are headed in the right direction. It is not often that we find someone as exceptional as Dawn to be a tutor for our students. She is very dedicated to her teaching, shows an immense patience with students, very deeply cares for them, and goes above and beyond to make each one a success story.


Due to my grandson making such improvements working with Dawn, his teacher at school told us, 'What a great accomplishment when I give him work in class and he finds out he can really do it all by himself!' Dawn always explains geometry in a way that students can understand in a step-by-step method and makes it fun and interesting to learn. We are so thankful to Dawn for our grandson to have successfully passed geometry. Her encouragement, persistence and support in his second semester senior year will never be forgotten. She taught him that he is very capable, but it takes hard work, dedication, and determination. Dawn is an excellent tutor, and my grandson said he will most likely be going on to EMT school because of her. I told Dawn that if he ever needs a tutor in the future, it will indeed be her that I call. Dawn is the only tutor I would ever hire. I highly recommend her for any students that need tutoring."  -- J.S. Littleton, CO May 2017

   ~~~~~~~

"Dawn has been a great mentor for my son in Math. Dawn and my son get along very well and he respects her lots! I was considering ending the tutoring sessions because I felt my son wasn't really interested in her help anymore, but HE insisted that we continue to have Dawn help him once a week. He said he learned so much from her in just one hour a week sessions. She always had additional hand outs and little tips/tricks for solving the math problems he was working on. It gave him a different perspective to solving math problems. My husband and I, and even more so, my son, would highly recommend Dawn for your tutoring needs."  -- K.Z. Littleton, CO May 2017

~~~~~~~

​"Dawn helped our daughter raise her math grades from F's to A's. That's what I call getting results! If you're looking for an extremely caring and competent tutor who is disciplined and well-prepared, who can help your son or daughter work to his or her FULL potential, and do it all with patience and a glass-half-full attitude, I highly recommend you give Dawn a call - she's the real deal." -- E.M. and K.M. Littleton, CO March 2017

~~~~~~~

"We were referred to Dawn by my daughter's middle school counselor. We had recently relocated to Colorado from overseas, and our daughter needed assistance to integrate into the more rigorous curriculum. We enlisted Dawn's help over the summer before the start of 8th grade. Each week, Dawn would work with our daughter until she fully understood each lesson from her summer work packet. With the help of Dawn, our daughter is now on the same level as her classmates and has confidence in her developing math skills." -- L.B. Centennial, CO February 2017



                                                                                 

​Dawn's In-Home Tutoring LLC

Instilling a Love of Learning Since 2009

"Better than a thousand days of diligent study is one day with a great teacher" - Japanese Proverb

Then please read these reviews...

Cell: 720-935-2269

dkgrebe@gmail.com

Would you like a private, in-home tutor who...
  • has taught over 175 students?
  • is an excellent role model? 
  • refuses to let your child fail?
  • will work with your child's school curriculum or design an individualized learning plan?
  • will teach your child the life-long value of education?
  • is recommended by local schools?

   Freelance journalist Stephanie Pappas quotes Paul von Hippel, professor of public affairs at University of Texas, Austin: "One thing that is consistent in the literature is that kids don't learn reading and math skills during summer vacation as they do during the school year. So, they either go sideways or lose skills."*

   My tutoring proves that summer learning can be fun and engaging, while ensuring that your student gains skills during the long break. Give your child an emotional and academic boost by hiring me as a "study buddy" if summer school is required to retake a class. Summer tutoring subjects include Math, Language Arts, History, Earth Science, Biology, AP Psychology, and the New SAT.

   Call now to reserve supplemental summer tutoring and/or summer school tutoring for your student, K-12.

*For the full article click here