"When you embrace your difference, your DNA, your look or heritage or religion or your unusual name, that's when you start to shine. " --Bethenny Frankel

Archive of More Reviews from Satisfied Clients...

Instilling a Love of Learning Since 2009

​Dawn's In-Home Tutoring LLC

"Dawn has become part of our family. She came into my daughter's life and changed her education. My daughter's grades have dramatically improved, her overall behavior and attitude in school have improved, and most importantly, her self-esteem and confidence have dramatically improved. Dawn is patient, but will also make sure your child works hard during their time together. It is amazing to watch my daughter's progress, and I am looking forward to the changes. Dawn is truly amazing." -- C.D. Lakewood, CO October 2016

~~~~~~~

"My son Tranquilino has greatly benefited from Dawn's tutoring. He was getting numerous F's in math, but when I called her up, Dawn helped us greatly, and now he has an A. I give Dawn five out of five stars." -- F. Garcia Denver, CO October 2016

~~~~~~~​

"I first contacted Dawn when my twins were in fifth grade. I have a daughter who misses a lot of school due to a chronic illness, and although she is a good student, she needed support in math to keep up with the curriculum. Her twin brother, I knew, would also benefit from one-on-one instruction, which he does not get in his class of thirty-one sixth graders. After researching different tutors and services, I decided that Dawn seemed like the perfect fit for my family and me. From our very first conversation to our initial session, Dawn showed nothing but professionalism and a true commitment to helping my children keep up and progress in math. We have been with Dawn for about a year now and my kids are doing great in math, but more importantly, they are confident that they understand math. Confidence is such a huge part of success. Dawn's knowledge of the subject is very impressive. She can work on issues they have in school, or continue building core knowledge so that they can build on their skills. Dawn individually keeps my kids' attention and focus for an hour, and my children never complain about going to tutoring (we meet at a local bookstore). They both love the skills they are gaining. 

We have worked with several companies and private tutors over the years, and I have never met a tutor who enjoys and takes her job more seriously than Dawn. She is always professional, well prepared, and focused. She asks the kids to give their full attention and effort, and she gives them hers. It works. Dawn takes the time to make sure skills are learned and maintained, which in turn, builds confidence. She has even hand written formulas and diagrams and sent them to us to make sure they understand the procedures they reviewed during tutoring time. I would recommend Dawn to any parent looking to academically support their children." --K. C. Morrison, CO March 2016

~~~~~~~


Note: I received the following two reviews for the same child, one from each parent.​

"Dawn was a referral from a good friend whose daughter was excelling in school with her help. Our son was doing well in some subjects, but reading and comprehension were a struggle. He was diagnosed with ADHD, which compounded his struggles. After a conversation with Dawn, we decided to move ahead with tutoring and focus on those areas. It has been about 3 months, and our son is reading much faster, his fluency and his comprehension have improved, and he actually enjoys reading now. Dawn is very professional, organized, prompt, and passionate about what she does. We would highly recommend her." --K. B. Littleton, CO March 2016

"Our experience with Dawn has been measurable and immeasurable. Brendan has single-sided deafness (auditory processing impairment) and ADHD. Seeing the amount of increased work that comes with middle school from our older son, we wanted to get ahead of the curve and help Brendan with the hope of an easier adjustment with enhanced learning resources. The measurable part of our experience with Dawn has come in the form of better results in reading comprehension and writing ability. The immeasurable piece is that prior to seeing Dawn, Brendan HATED reading and he has now found a thirst for it and embraces it fully." -- B. B. Littleton, CO March 2016

~~~~~~~

"Our daughter is 7 years old and goes to Kaiser Elementary. As parents, we were struggling to help her understand school work. Dawn helps our daughter build confidence and courage. When Dawn tutors and we hear our daughter laughing, we know she is comfortable. Dawn has the good qualities of honesty and moral principles. She emphasizes the good side of situations and people to reinforce a positive attitude in our daughter. Dawn has sufficient skills, knowledge, and experience. This is a great investment in your child." --The Bunting Family.  Denver, CO  March 2016

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has become part of our family. She came into my daughter's life and changed her education. My daughter's grades have dramatically improved, her overall behavior and attitude in school have improved, and most importantly, her self-esteem and confidence have dramatically improved. Dawn is patient, but will also make sure your child works hard during their time together. It is amazing to watch my daughter's progress, and I am looking forward to the changes.
​Dawn is truly amazing." -- C. D. Lakewood, CO October 2016

~~~~~~~

"My son Tranquilino has greatly benefited from Dawn's tutoring. He was getting numerous F's in math, but when I called her up, Dawn helped us greatly, and now he has an A. I give Dawn five out of five stars." -- F. Garcia Denver, CO October 2016

~~~~~~~​

"I first contacted Dawn when my twins were in fifth grade. I have a daughter who misses a lot of school due to a chronic illness, and although she is a good student, she needed support in math to keep up with the curriculum. Her twin brother, I knew, would also benefit from one-on-one instruction, which he does not get in his class of thirty-one sixth graders. After researching different tutors and services, I decided that Dawn seemed like the perfect fit for my family and me. From our very first conversation to our initial session, Dawn showed nothing but professionalism and a true commitment to helping my children keep up and progress in math. We have been with Dawn for about a year now and my kids are doing great in math, but more importantly, they are confident that they understand math. Confidence is such a huge part of success. Dawn's knowledge of the subject is very impressive. She can work on issues they have in school, or continue building core knowledge so that they can build on their skills. Dawn individually keeps my kids' attention and focus for an hour, and my children never complain about going to tutoring (we meet at a local bookstore). They both love the skills they are gaining. We have worked with several companies and private tutors over the years, and I have never met a tutor who enjoys and takes her job more seriously than Dawn. She is always professional, well prepared, and focused. She asks the kids to give their full attention and effort, and she gives them hers. It works. Dawn takes the time to make sure skills are learned and maintained, which in turn, builds confidence. She has even hand written formulas and diagrams and sent them to us to make sure they understand the procedures they reviewed during tutoring time. I would recommend Dawn to any parent looking to academically support their children." --K. C. Morrison, CO March 2016

~~~~~~~

Note: I received the following two reviews for the same child, one from each parent.​
"Dawn was a referral from a good friend whose daughter was excelling in school with her help. Our son was doing well in some subjects, but reading and comprehension were a struggle. He was diagnosed with ADHD, which compounded his struggles. After a conversation with Dawn, we decided to move ahead with tutoring and focus on those areas. It has been about 3 months, and our son is reading much faster, his fluency and his comprehension have improved, and he actually enjoys reading now. Dawn is very professional, organized, prompt, and passionate about what she does. We would highly recommend her." --K. B. Littleton, CO March 2016

"Our experience with Dawn has been measurable and immeasurable. Brendan has single-sided deafness (auditory processing impairment) and ADHD. Seeing the amount of increased work that comes with middle school from our older son, we wanted to get ahead of the curve and help Brendan with the hope of an easier adjustment with enhancd learning resources. The measurable part of our experience with Dawn has come in the form of better results in reading comprehension and writing ability. The immeasurable piece is that prior to seeing Dawn, Brendan HATED reading and he has now found a thirst for it and embraces it fully." -- B. B. Littleton, CO March 2016

~~~~~~~

"Our daughter is 7 years old and goes to Kaiser Elementary. As parents, we were struggling to help her understand school work. Dawn helps our daughter build confidence and courage. When Dawn tutors and we hear our daughter laughing, we know she is comfortable. Dawn has the good qualities of honesty and moral principles. She emphasizes the good side of situations and people to reinforce a positive attitude in our daughter. Dawn has sufficient skills, knowledge, and experience. This is a great investment in your child." --The Bunting Family.  Denver, CO  March 2016

~~~~~~~

"My son had previously attended Havern and Denver Academy due to severe dyslexia and ADHD along with some auditory processing issues. It became apparent shortly after he entered 7th grade at Ken Caryl Middle School that he was going to need additional help. He does not qualify for an ILP, but nonetheless needs one-on-one help that is hard to get at school. We have used Dawn for tutoring since my son entered middle school. He is now in 10th grade at Columbine High School and meets with her two times per week; he is doing well. I credit Dawn with having a calmer home environment and having a son that is getting A's and B's and has higher self-esteem. Dawn is dependable, works harder than most people I know, and is passionate about what she does. She cares about her students deeply and it shows. She is successful with students because she is tough and holds students accountable. She also understands students who struggle and recognizes and works with their strengths to help them build confidence and excel. I would recommend Dawn highly and am happy to talk with any prospective parents." --G. C. Littleton, CO September 2015

~~~~~~~

"I was resistant to hiring a tutor for our 7th grader last year because I really didn't think she needed one. However, I went along with the idea and was surprised at how much of a difference Dawn made in my daughter's enjoyment of learning math. Now that our daughter is in 8th grade, we are glad to have Dawn come and work through the math questions that always come up after school is over! Dawn is professional, pleasant, and very knowledgeable and my kiddo looks forward to her visits. Two thumbs up!" --J. P. Littleton, CO September 2015

~~~~~~~

"I decided to find a summer tutor (June 2014) for my daughter in order to give her a better chance to catch up and succeed in 7th grade. Dawn came with a positive attitude, a professional appearance, and a teacher's spirit. She helped her read and annotate the novel, Life of Pi, for a summer book report due on the first day back to school. She also helped her complete lessons in math and reading workbooks, study math flash cards, and assigned weekly homework. I looked forward to meeting Dawn every week as she challenged, encouraged, and pushed my daughter to do better. Dawn Kolber-Grebe is the real deal!!! She sparked something in my daughter, inspired her, and helped build her confidence and belief in her abilities. This year has been way better than expected. My daughter has improved tremendously. Her reading teacher has called me on more than one occasion to say how wonderful she is doing. I pinched myself!!! What a blessing to find Dawn Kolber-Grebe--the best decision I ever made." -- I. W. Denver, CO May 2015

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has been tutoring my 16-year-old son for two years in math/algebra. He is taught within a home school/online setting. He has dyslexia and reading can be a challenge for him, even in math. I am so pleased with his academic growth over the past two years. He now works more independently and has risen to the top of his class in math. Dawn is truly a gem and I am so glad we found out about her. She has humor, patience, and organizational skills that are above and beyond. I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone needing help in math or any other subject." -- L. K. Littleton, CO April 2015

~~~~~~~

"Dawn is extremely patient and positive with my son and encourages him to do his best. She always comes very prepared and uses the full time to challenge him and help him gain confidence in his math skills. She is extremely dedicated to her students and I think children are lucky to have the opportunity to work with her." -- L. H. Littleton, CO December 2014

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has been tutoring my 12-year-old daughter in math for five months now, and I am very pleased with the improvement I've seen in her grade and attitude towards school. Dawn is an extremely hard worker, shows great attention to detail, and has a passion for working with children. She is very well organized and her knowledge of the subject matter is amazing. She truly cares about my daughter and sees her potential for success in school. I would highly recommend Dawn to anyone looking for a tutor." -- D. H. Littleton, CO October 2014

~~~~~~~

"You were very patient and understanding of all of our son's needs and worked very hard to make him a better student. By the end of each class he was so proud of himself for accomplishing what you needed him to do. You always made him feel worthy and special and that he should love learning. We see a big difference in how he approaches his homework now and he feels confident in tackling anything that the teacher throws at him. We believe that he progressed tremendously with your help and we will be forever grateful for this."  -- C. L. and T. L. Centennial, CO,  April 2014

~~~~~~~

"I was very pleased with Dawn. She turned around our 14-year-old son by performing a detailed analysis of every aspect of his first weeks in high school. She helped him get organized and followed through on all promises she made. I would recommend her highly to any parents who might be too busy to devote the necessary time for their child to have success." -- D. S. Green Mountain High School Parent,  November 2013

~~~~~~~

"We were fortunate to find Dawn from a tutor list at our fourth grade daughter's school, Shaffer Elementary. I am glad to say that it is because of Dawn that our child has developed immense interest and confidence in her scholastic ability, which she was starting to struggle with. Dawn was able to see all the pieces that had become disconnected for our daughter and work with her to put them back together. She is a perfect blend of strictness and kindness. Her ability to connect with her students and her talent at teaching simple concepts, as well as more advanced topics, are both truly superior. She is capable of recognizing a student's potential as well as weaknesses, apart from being very dedicated and sincere." -- J. W.  Littleton, CO,  May 2013

~~~~~~~

"We have been working with Dawn since August 2012.  She shows an amazing attention to detail and an obvious love of teaching.  She is able to evaluate each child’s strengths and weaknesses and tailor the sessions using that information.  The sessions are intense and extremely productive from beginning to end.  Our 2 sons, ages 10 and 9 have made amazing strides in their reading comprehension, which has shown in their grades and standardized test scores."
--J. S. Littleton, CO,  May 2013

~~~~~~~

 "Since my wife and I are immigrants, we hired Ms. Kolber-Grebe as a professional English tutor for our son, a freshman in high school. She created a reading list and helped him prepare for the SAT and ACT writing sections. Ms. Kolber-Grebe is always on time, well prepared, patient with our son, and is dedicated to advancing his reading and writing skills. Our son has been enjoying working with Ms. Kolber-Grebe and we recommend her to anyone interested in hiring an English tutor." -- N. S. Littleton, CO

~~~~~~

"We are a military family and are always moving, which has caused my son to have to adapt to different teaching styles and standards. Our last move was hard on my son Ethan because of the reading expectations at his new school. Mrs. Grebe came highly recommended from the staff at his elementary school and the results were excellent. Ethan started her program at a 2nd grade reading level and is currently where he needs to be along with his fellow 3rd graders after only two months of her tutoring. He is no longer embarrassed to read in front of people and I believe it’s because of Dawn’s methods and understanding of how to help young children." -- Jason F.  Littleton, CO

~~~~~~~

"My son, having the passed the IB test, has been accepted into his high school's honors program. Dawn's professional tutoring help was essential to his success.  I highly recommend Dawn to parents whose children need not only a personal academic trainer, but someone who can discuss personal or emotional issues often overlooked in a public school environment." – Anita H. Littleton, CO

~~~~~~~

"I decided to hire Dawn as a reading tutor when my son, now a bilingual fourth grader, changed schools last year (Fall 2011). Dawn is always committed, flexible, and open-minded. She has definitely proven herself to be the best possible tutor for my son." --C.T. Lakewood, CO

~~~~~~~

"Dawn has tutored my grandson in algebra and geometry this past semester and I have been more than pleased with his progress. I wholeheartedly recommend Dawn to parents, teachers and/or institutions who desire a tutor who is both well-versed in the subjects she teaches and passionate about the education of children and young adults. I'm convinced that Dawn has positively influenced the educational path of many fortunate children during her career, including my grandson, and will continue to do so in the future." – Robin G. Denver, CO

 ~~~~~~~

“Dawn’s patience, excitement for education, and perseverance shone through in every session. Her dependability and dedication to our family was outstanding. I highly recommend Dawn for anyone in need of a tutor. However, don’t be surprised to be inspired as well.” – Vickie T. Littleton, CO

 ~~~~~~~

“Dawn added another dimension to our reading program that did not exist before her arrival.”  – Jefferson County Elementary School Principal

~~~~~~~

The following review is from the same parent, written in both English and Spanish:

"I contacted her and hired her to help my son after school. Dawn effectively used the Phono-Graphix Reading method to improve his fluency and vocabulary mastery. She is very dedicated to her job. She is a person who has a lot of patience when teaching kids. My son advanced in his reading and writing and he is more confident now. I am very pleased with her work." – Maria R. Lakewood, CO (English version)


Me contacte con ella y la contrate para ayudara a mi hijo des pues de la escuela. Dawn uso el Phono-Graphix Reading method muy efectivamente para mejorar su lectura y vocabulario.  Ella es muy dedicada a su trabajo.  Ella es una persona que tiene mucha paciencia con los niños cuando les está enseñando. Mi hijo avanzo  en su lectura y escritura y se siente más seguro ahora. Estoy muy contenta con su trabajo. – Maria R. Lakewood, CO (en español) 

~~~~~~~

"Dawn Grebe has worked wonders with my grandson's reading. After just the first week of her tutoring, his behavior improved, he completed all his work, and he was even listening. He now enjoys going to school and learning. Thanks to Dawn my grandson will not be left behind. I would recommend Dawn to everyone." -- Shelly T. Littleton, CO